Kai D. Zacharowski

Professor Kai D. Zacharowski, MD PhD ML FRCA
Director: Department of Anaesthesiology, Intensive Care Medicine & Pain Therapy, University Hospital Frankfurt, Theodor-Stern-Kai 7, 60590 Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Specialist: Anaesthesia, Intensive Care Medicine & Clinical Pharmacology
2019 Incoming President European Society of Anaesthesiology
Since 2016 Member of Leopoldina (http://www.leopoldina.org/en/members/list-of-members/member/8240/)
Since 2016 CEO Lohfert Foundation (http://www.lohfert-stiftung.de/)
2015 – 2017 President HAI (http://www.hai2017.de/)
2015 + 2018 President WAT 2015 & 2018
2014 – 2018 President MJC Intensive Care Medicine (UEMS) (https://www.uems.eu/)
2014 – 2018 ESA Council Member for Germany (http://www.esahq.org/about-us/the-esa/council)
2013 – 2018 Delegate for Germany UEMS Section & European Board of Anaesthesiology
Since 2013 Deputy Medical Director University Hospital Frankfurt
Since 2009 Director & Chair: Anaesthesiology, Intensive Care Medicine & Pain Therapy
2006 – 2008 Professor & Chair of Anaesthesia & Critical Care, University Hospital Bristol, UK
2002 – 2005 Jr-Professor & Consultant (Anaesthesia and Critical Care), Dusseldorf, Germany
1997 – 2001 Honorary Clinical Fellow & Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacology & Pharmacology; WHRI, Barts & the London, Queen Mary, School of Medicine, UK
1995 – 1997 Internal Medicine/Cardiology, University Hospital Mainz, Germany
2000 Doctor of Philosophy (PhD): Queen Mary, University of London, UK
1995 Doctor of Medicine (MD): University of Mainz, Germany
Membership of Societies
ESA, Royal College of Anaesthetists, DGAI, DIVI, German Society for Cardiology-Heart and Circulatory Research, ESC, German Heart Foundation, BMW Veteran Club Germany, German Sepsis-Foundation, ESICM, etc.
Awards and Prices
2016 German Price for Patient Safety
2015 Humanitarian Award – USA
2014 Lohfert Award for Patient Safety
2012 United States Air Forces – Medal of Distinction
2010 Manfred-Specker Medal for Mentoring of the DGAI
2006 Dr Ernst Wiethoff Award for Innovative Clinical Research
2005 Hanse-Award for Critical Care Medicine
2005 Research Award Erste Bank der Österreich. Sparkassen
2005 Poster Award; 2. International Convention “Sepsis and Multiorgan Dysfunction”
1999 – 2000 Fellowship of the „Deutschen Herzstiftung“
1997 – 1999 Fellowship of the „Deutschen Gesellschaft für Kardiologie“
Co-holder for several patents for the treatment of myocardial infarction, sepsis and arrhythmias.
Currently, holder of 4 major grants (>2 Mio €). In the last 10 years I have received more than 10 Mio €.
In PubMed are currently over 300 contributions listed. (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=zacharowski).
Five Selected Publications (2005-2015)
1. Petzelbauer P, Zacharowski P, Friedl P, Wickenhauser G, Gröger M, Castellino FJ, Wolff K, Zacharowski K. The peptide Bβ15-42 protects the myocardium against ischemia/reperfusion injury. Nature Medicine 11(3):298-304. (2005).
2. Mouton R, Bicks A, Finch D, Davis I, Zacharowski K. Effect of aprotinin on renal dysfunction in patients undergoing on-pump and off-pump surgery: a retrospective observational study. Lancet 371(9611):475-482 (2008).
3. Weber CF, Görlinger K, Meininger D, Herrmann E, Bingold T, Moritz A, Cohn LH, Zacharowski K. Point-of-care testing: a prospective, randomized clinical trial of efficacy in coagulopathic cardiac surgery patients. Anesthesiology 117(3):531-47 (2012).
4. Wolf T, Kann G, Becker S, Stephan C, Brodt HR, de Leuw P, Grünewald T, Vogl T, Kempf VA, Keppler OT, Zacharowski K. Severe Ebola virus disease with vascular leakage and multiorgan failure: treatment of a patient in intensive care. Lancet. 385(9976):1428-35 (2015).
5. Meybohm P,…Zacharowski K, for the RIPHeart Study Collaborators* A Multicenter Trial of Remote Ischemic Preconditioning for Heart Surgery NEJM.8;373(15):1397-407 (2015).